Well They Aren’t Chips – Weight Loss Wednesday

I know I said today would be a post about facial care, but I remembered it’s Weight Loss Wednesday!

I am so excited to be a part of the beauty bloggers initiative to get healthy and lose weight in 2014. I have already met some great girls through the beauty blogging world and I know I will meet many more to gab with and collaborate with. To start off with if you want to join us you can go to the lovely creator’s blog post about it here –

In addition you will see all the other wonderful beauty bloggers who are taking part in these great weight loss Wednesdays. Furthermore we will be in the Twitterverse talking all about it with the hash tag #bloggersWLW so you can follow along. Expect every Wednesday to be a post about healthy eating, fitness, motivation or just something that shows you my progress.

It’s About This or That

I don’t have a lot of weight to lose, my journey is more about making good decisions. I made the conscious decision to lose ten pounds starting in October and I am happy to say I have lost 9. I have an ideal goal weight, and I intend to keep that weight off. I didn’t change much, just lowered portion sizes, limited snacking, and committed to doing at least a little exercise a day.

IMG_20140108_161754750

This was one of my snacks at work today. It was  right beside a bag of Doritos. The Doritos were 140 calories. The two packs of pretzels with cheese were 70 each. The difference, is the fat content.
Doritos – 8 grams
Pretzels with cheese – 5 grams

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t the best snack I could have. I was faced with a choice. The Doritos would have been more satisfying to my taste buds, but the pretzels had less fat. The exact same amount of calories were consumed, but I feel better.

If you look at the health ratio of those pretzels against a cup of grapes you will see that the grade is probably 3 out of 10. It is all about making choices. Don’t have a second helping of french fries, don’t finish that plate if you are full, and don’t choose to eat Twinkies while watching TV while you can have a few filling and healthier nuts. Actually didn’t they discontinue Twinkies? I need to research that… anywhoo..

Everyday you choose whether to eat this or that, there is no magical weight loss pill, drink or diet. It all comes down to a matter of choices.

❤ Emily

2 thoughts on “Well They Aren’t Chips – Weight Loss Wednesday

  1. Love your post lovely, almost philosophical! Everyone is bringing something different to the table with their posts, it’s making reading so interesting! You’re so right about choices though, and it’s great that your pretzels weren’t “perfect”. I’m so guilty of trying to be a perfectionist about my diet and when something doesn’t go quite my way I scrap the day and binge! Congratulations on your 9lbs already, that’s more than half a stone! Looking forward to your future posts!

    Jennifer http://www.barelytherebeauty.com

    xx

Leave a Reply

