DIY December – Make your own Bow Ring!

Okay so I have been promising this post, and then I couldn’t get around to it. Here it is Christmas Eve and this post is happening. I made the ring, and it is beyond cute! Here is how I did it.

First you will need the following things;

thin ribbon
2 inch ribbon
crochet rings
scissors
a glue gun
a lighter

007You are going to take the thin ribbon and glue the edge of it to the ring. The crochet rings are what helps you keep your thread from tangling while you crochet, but they worked really well for this.

Cut a long piece of it and wrap it around the ring. 008 Keep wrapping it until you have completely covered the ring and then glue the edge down. Wrap it one more time and glue it again to make sure it stays secure and you can move on to making your bow.

009 Cut a piece of the thicker ribbon twice as long as you want your bow. 010

You are going to want to burn both sides quickly with the lighter to keep it from fraying.

011 and then fold it in half to create a crease in the middle.013

At this point you can fold the ends in to the crease and glue them down. I didn’t glue them down, because I was trying to do it a different way, but it will be easier to work with if you glue it down.

014 Now you are going to pinch it and put glue in the middle and pinch it together.

015

Pinch the sides together and wrap the Skinny ribbon around it.

 

Now all that’s left to do is glue your bow to the ring you created.

I made this one for my sister for Christmas. I am going to experiment with different ribbon.

 

021

 

I hope you will try this and let me know how it works for you.

 

Leave a Reply

