Skinny Girl or Homemade Products

So I was in the liquor store and was like wow, Skinny Girl has a margarita now. Then I was in Walmart and it was like wow, Skinny Girl has skin products now. I put the lip scrub in my cart, because I had been looking for one. I wheeled that baby around a while and finally put it back. I was thinking I could make my own lip scrub. Here is how that went.

This is the label that is taking over.

 

So the purpose of the lip scrub (not pictured) is to give you a smooth canvas for your lipstick. Here are some recipes to try at home.

 

From hereĀ  Squidoo I got the following recipe;

Take approximately 2 tablespoons of plain table sugar in a small bowl. Add honey, one teaspoon at a time, until it reaches a nice, thick, sticky, consistancy. If you want to add a moisture element, add a few drops of Olive Oil and blend well.

This one worked well, but it was pretty sticky with all the honey, and I kind of made a mess

 

A more simple one I found that worked great was good ole Vaseline and Sugar.

You put on the Vaseline, dip in the sugar and scrub away.

 

From here I got this;

Use a sugar and salt lip scrub recipe 2 or 3 times a week for very dry lips. Mix a teaspoon of sea salt, a teaspoon of white sugar and a teaspoon of shea butter in your palm. Put the mixture on your lips and let it stay for a few minutes, then rub your lips together to exfoliate. Rinse your lips with warm water and apply more shea butter to moisturize and protect your lips.

The salt burned.
I am not going to lie. I will still probably buy the lip scrub. I am just proud of myself that I tried it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

